Home | BAC/Teze | Biblioteca | Jobs | Referate | Horoscop | Muzica | Dex | Games | Barbie

 

Search!

     

 

Index | Forum | E-mail

   

Lidia Vianu - Director of CTITC (CENTRE FOR THE TRANSLATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE CONTEMPORARY TEXT), Bucharest University, Professor of Contemporary British Literature at the English Department of Bucharest University, Member of the Writers’ Union, Romania.

 

 
 
 
 
 Meniu rapid  Portalul e-scoala | CAMPUS ASLS | Forum discutii | Premii de excelenta | Europa





 

 

 

 

CTITC

CENTRE FOR THE TRANSLATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE CONTEMPORARY TEXT
CENTRUL PENTRU TRADUCEREA SI INTERPRETAREA TEXTULUI CONTEMPORAN

 

 < back  

 

 TRANSLATION CAFÉ 


 

CTITC
CENTER FOR THE TRANSLATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE CONTEMPORARY TEXT

MTTLC
MA Programme for the TRANSLATION OF THE CONTEMPORARY LITERARY TEXT

 

TRANSLATION
CAFÉ



 

Review of Contemporary Texts in Translation and E-Learning

 

 

Nr. 37/May, 23, 2008

 

 

 

Director: LIDIA VIANU

 

© CTITC

    MTTLC

 

ISSN 1842 – 9149

 

Issue Editor: LIDIA VIANU and OANA TEODOROIU

 

Board of Advisors:

 

FIONA SAMPSON

RUTH FAINLIGHT

GEORGE SZIRTES

ADAM SORKIN

JOHN MOLE

 

These translations  are an online seminar of literary translation, part

of Lidia Vianu’s course [Guide to Contemporary Literature and Its Translation],

and a session of E-Learning in the MA Programme for the Translation of the

Contemporary Literary Text, directed by Lidia Vianu.

The texts have also been discussed in translation group at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/translationcafe/ 

 

 

poetry pRO

 

 

A collaboration between Lidia Vianu, Professor of contemporary British literature at the English Department of the University of Bucharest, and poetry p f, a growing showcase of poets writing in English, some fully accomplished with several published collections, others at the start of their poetic careers.

 

Lidia Vianu:  www.e-scoala.ro/lidiavianu/index.html

poetry p f:      www.poetrypf.co.uk/

 

CONTENTS

Brian Docherty:

 

Born Glasgow, 1953, now lives in north London.  Educated at several institutions, including Middlesex Poly. University of Essex, London University Institute of Education, and St. Mary’s College, Strawberry Hill. His CV features an implausible variety of jobs, including civil servant, hospital storeman, market trader, artists model, lecturer, and freelance writer.

Since 1978, he has been a member of various workshops and poetry groups from Camden Voices to Vertical Images; he is currently a member of Islington Poetry Workshop and Word for Word Writers group. He is widely published in magazines and anthologies, and is currently seeking a publisher for a 2nd collection, A Desk with a View.

He has recently completed 2 booklength sequences, Memory Harbour: A Reading of Jack B. Yeats's Watercolours, and Space Cadets, science fiction poems in the tradition of Isaac Asimov & Robert Silverberg.

By the same author:

Poetry:      

Armchair Theatre (London: Hearing Eye, 1999)

As Editor:  

ed., with Tony Clelford & Deborah Eagle, Scribes and Passions An Anthology of New Writing by Word for Word (London: New Gallery Books, 1998)

ed., with Tony Clelford & Deborah Eagle, Into the Empty Space: A 2nd Anthology of New Writing by Word for Word (London: New Gallery books, 1999)

ed., with Angharad Ellis Jones & Elissa Swinglehurst, Life, Death, Sex & Chocolate A 3rd Anthology of New Writing by Word for Word (London : New Gallery Books, 2002).

Criticism:

ed., with Clive Bloom, Jane Gibb & Keith Shand, Nineteenth Century Suspense. from Poe to Conan Doyle (Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1988)

ed. American Crime Fiction: Studies in the Genre (Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1988) ed. American Horror Fiction: From Brockden Brown to Stephen King (Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1990)

ed. Twentieth Century European Drama ( Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1994)

ed., with Clive Bloom, American Poetry: The Modernist Ideal (Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1995) ed., with Gary Day, British Poetryl900 -1950. Aspects of Tradition (Basingstoke: Macmillan, 1995)

ed., with Gary Day, British Poetry from the 1950s to the 1990s. Politics and Art (Basingstoke:   Macmillan, 1997)

 

 

Translations of World View by: Daniela Bojica, Gianina Casleanu, Dana Constantinescu, Cristina Florea, Andreea Hadambu, Corina Nicoleta Iscru, Raluca-Ioana Manolescu, Violeta Mitu, Silvia Nicoale, Patricia Nicolae, Steliana Palade, Reluta Paune, Simona Florentina Pavaloiu, Alina Petrescu, Ana-Maria Purec, Paula Sezonov, Ioana-Alina Stan, Rodica Tita (Ionas), Tefana Trapcea, Ioana Tudor, Simona Elisabeta Catana, Liviu Martinescu, Ileana Botescu-Sireteanu, Brandusa Raileanu, Arina Lungu.


 

 

Translations from:


Brian Docherty

World View

Boredom rusts my mouth, shrivels my tongue.
The food never varies; I mark off my days
by the menu I have never been offered.
The supplements announce who is on duty.

I can smell my own body, the drains,
boiled vegetables, leather and dogs.
The man who hung himself 20 meals ago is
still with us, a wreath of quicklime.

My skin, my clothes, this floor, these walls, are
all I have touched for too long.
A book, a woman’s skin, a glass of wine, are
things I have given up longing for.

All night I hear men moaning, pipes banging,
lorries and trains in the distance.
If I had a watch, I could set it by them. In
the early hours they stop for a while.

The high window is a wonky camera
framing birds, clouds, kites, planes.
I never see other people except through
the smoky mirror of memory.

 

by:

 

+ Daniela Bojica

+ Gianina Casleanu

+ Dana Constantinescu

+ Cristina Florea

+ Andreea Hadambu

+ Corina Nicoleta Iscru

+ Raluca Ioana Manolescu

+ Violeta Mitu

+ Silvia Nicolae

+ Patricia Neculae

+ Steliana Palade

+ Reluta Paune

+ Simona Florentia Pavaloiu

+ Alina Petrescu

+ Ana-Maria Purec

+ Paula Sezonov

+ Ioana-Alina Stan

+ Rodica Tita (Ionas)

+ Teofana Trapcea

+ Ioana Tudor

+ Simona Elisabeta Catana

+ Liviu Martinescu

+ Ileana Botescu Sireteanu

+ Brandusa Raileanu

+ Arina Lungu

 

 

 

 

LICENTA  LUCRARI DE DIPLOMA  DOCTORATE  TRANSLATION CAFÉ  THE JOI JOY  GRUP DE DISCUTII  Translation in high school  CONTACT

 

Home | BAC/Teze | Biblioteca | Referate | Games | Horoscop | Muzica | Versuri | Limbi straine | DEX

Modele CV | Wallpaper | Download gratuit | JOB & CARIERA | Harti | Bancuri si perle | Jocuri Barbie

Iluzii optice | Romana | Geografie | Chimie | Biologie | Engleza | Psihologie | Economie | Istorie | Chat

 

Joburi Studenti JOB-Studenti.ro

Oportunitati si locuri de munca pentru studenti si tineri profesionisti - afla cele mai noi oferte de job!

Online StudentOnlineStudent.ro

Viata in campus: stiri, burse, cazari, cluburi, baluri ale bobocilor - afla totul despre viata in studentie!

Cariere si modele CVStudentCV.ro

Dezvoltare personala pentru tineri - investeste in tine si invata ponturi pentru succesul tau in cariera!

 

 > Contribuie la proiect - Trimite un articol scris de tine

Gazduit de eXtrem computers | Project Manager: Bogdan Gavrila (C)  

 

Toate Drepturile Rezervate - ScoalaOnline Romania